Washington High School
Chess Association

Welcome to the Washington High School Chess Association

Last update: June 26, 2024

2024-2025 WHSCA High School Chess Calendar

November 9 State Mini-Teams Championship Jamboree, in Mukilteo
November Kingco, Wesco, Metro and Northwest League play begins
January 11 San Juan / Islands Regional, at Anacortes HS (unconfirmed)
January 18 Pierce County Regional, at Mount Tahoma HS
January 25 Eastern Washington Regional, at Cheney HS
February 1 SW Washington Regional, at Olympia HS
February 1 Grant-Adams Counties Regional Waypoint Tournament at Ephrata
February 8 Peninsula Regional, at North Kitsap HS
February 8 Vancouver Area Regional, at Seton Catholic HS (Vancouver)
February 15 South King County Regional, at Thomas Jefferson HS
Jan/Feb TBD Tri-Cities Regional, in Kennewick/Pasco
Feb. 28, March 1 59th annual Washington State High School Chess Team Championships, at Stanwood HS

Results 2024 State Team Championship

4A Champions   Newport HS, Bellevue
3A Champions Lakeside HS, Seattle, Grand Champions!
2A Champions Sehome HS, Bellingham
1A Champions Seton Catholic HS, Vancouver
1B Champions Pope John Paul II HS, Lacey
High School Team Team Final Results and Trophies and Final Teams Spreadsheet
Premier Section Premiere Standings for All-Comers Tournament
Reserve Section Reserve Standings for All-Comers Tournament
See the photo album of the event!
2024 State Team Championship TA PDF
2024 State Team Championship TA (Spanish) PDF Spanish

WHSCA Regions

All high school students in Washington, beginners and experienced, are invited to compete in their area League or Regional tournament. Teams and individuals that do well at Leagues and Regionals qualify to compete in the 59th annual Washington State HIgh School Chess Team Championships, to be held February 28 and March 1, 2025 at Stanwood High School.

Washington State County Map
  • Metro League: Seattle area
  • Wesco League: Snohomish County
  • Northwest League: Whatcom County (Skagit eligible)
  • Kingco League: Bellevue-Kirkland-Redmond area; east King County
  • Pierce County Regional: Pierce County
  • Peninsula Regional: Kitsap, Clallam, Jefferson counties
  • San Juan / Islands Regional: San Juan, Island, Skagit counties
  • S. King County Regional: Renton, Kent, Auburn, Federal Way, Tukwila, Highline, Tahoma, Enumclaw, Vashon Island school districts
  • SW Washington Regional: Thurston, Lewis, Mason, Grays Harbor, Pacific, Wahkiakum counties
  • Vancouver Area Regional: Clark, Cowlitz, Skamania, Klickitat counties
  • Tri-Cities Regional: Benton, Franklin, Walla Walla, Yakima counties
  • Grant-Adams Regional (Waypoint Tournament): Grant, Adams counties
  • Eastern Washington Regional: Spokane, Whitman, Pend Oreille, Stevens, Ferry, Lincoln, Asotin, Garfield, Columbia counties